its me winnie!


A Girl Named Kai
May 20, 2009, 3:15 pm
Filed under: stuff by other people

I want to share with you a filmmaker that I have the upmost respect for. I came across this short in 2004, when I interned for Media that Matters Film Festival. Its images has stayed with me since then. I’m so glad that I recently came across this short again on youtube.

As an Asian American, I have always related to Kai’s inner conflict between her sexuality and strict culture. I know how it feels to be the only one to think outside the box in my family.

Her message is powerful. The visuals are unforgettable. This goes to prove to you that a masterpiece doesn’t need to be achieved in a feature length Hollywood fiction movie. Beautiful art is created everyday by both amateurs and professionals, even novices with innate talent. Always remember to support local arts and talent. You’ll never know what you come across.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment